Top 5 Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic Games

After getting off of work, I am sitting here looking at my video games trying to decide which world to immerse myself into. As I am looking at my games, I am impressed by all the different and exciting worlds that have been created.

With all my pondering of great games, I think it is time for my first ever Top Five List. In this list I will be ranking my favorite Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic games. This list will not include zombie games. That list will be coming soon. Also, the list will only contain pc games and/or console games.

 

Let’s get started!

 

  1.  Deus Ex

This game is set on futuristic Earth in a dystopian cyberpunk society. It is 2052 and the world is facing a crisis. A nano-virus called Gray Death which integrates nanites into an individual’s cells. The person’s body, then, rejects the nanites and the cells that have been infected.The virus attacks people without a predisposition for nanoaugmentation.

JC Denton is a nano-augmented rookie agent for the UNATCO (United Nations Anti-Terrorist Coalition). His job is to eliminate terrorist cells. Denton is drawn into various schemes of rival factions and secret societies.

Deus Ex is an intense role-playing game. There are six games in this series.

 

Image result for Deus EX JC Denton xbox 360

 

 

  1.  Bioshock

This game is set in the 1960. Jack’s plane crashes in the ocean near the underwater city of Rapture. This haven was suppose to be a utopia, but as players can see this haven didn’t last. Jack must fight Big Daddies and save or harvest Little Sisters as he makes his way to Ryan. This game is full of horrifying baddies and along with music which adds to the setting. This game does an amazing job in immersing you into the world. There is also two more games set in the Bioshock world that are both hauntingly entertaining.

Image result for Bioshock

 

 

  1.  Gears of War

This is a third person shooter game where you must defend the world against the terrifying Locust that has infected it. The main character is Marcus Fenix. He is a former Gear who is imprisoned for abandoning his post to protect his father Adam, a lead researcher. Dominic “Dom”, Marcus’s closest friend, rescues him from military prison before a Locust attack. Marcus re-enlists to help the dwindling forces. He becomes the leader of Delta Team. Delta Team consist of Dom, Augustus Cole, and Damon Baird.

What I love about this game is not only does it have a good story and gameplay, but it is couch co-op. Nothing beats sitting down with your friends and chainsawing some Locusts. There are 5 games in this series. I have played 1-3. I recommend all of them. Gears of War 3’s online horde mode is one of my favorites.

 

Image result for Gears of War

 

  1. Fallout 4

The Fallout series is probably the most popular apocalyptic games ever and for good reason. This game is rich in story, character development, graphics, side missions, and sound track. I have played these game countless number of hours and still haven’t completed them a 100%. Can you even complete a Bethesda game? LOL!

Image result for Fallout 4

Fallout 4 begins with your family just before you have to enter the vault. Bad things happen and you are the sole survivor of Vault 111. This is my favorite game of the Fallout series. To be fair, I have only played Fallout 3, Fallout New Vegas, and this one. Though I enjoyed Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Fallout 4 has really has immersed me into the game with it countless side mission and the ability to build settlements. Oh Settlements. I have literally play this game for 3 hours and have just worked on settlements. When I finished playing for day, I am like well I haven’t done any mission to progress the story whatsoever. The side characters in this game are really developed. Each with an interesting story and personality. Favorite side character hands down is Nick Valentine.

Image result for Fallout 4 Nick Valentine awesome

 

There are 6 games in this series, 7 if you count Fallout Shelter.

Image result for Fallout 4

 

  1. Borderlands

Borderlands is a first person shooter role-playing game. It is set on the planet, Pandora. You get to pick one of the 4 Vault Hunters. This game is full of psychos, explosions, fast driving, and guns, guns, guns. What I love about this game is that is couch co-op. I remember seeing this game advertise the day it was released. My husband and I went to the store that day and bought it. We were desperate for a game to play together and finally we found one. We played this game an endless amount of hours. Every Friday was pizza and Borderlands night. This game included scavenging, powering and leveling up your selected character the way you wanted, some choices on character appearances, plus a crazy amount of guns to choose from. This game allowed us to wonder the vast wasteland of Pandora leveling up and scavenging while providing entertaining  main and side missions.

Image result for Borderlands

That is my list. And just because. Here are 5 Dystopian and/or Post Apocalyptic Games that I am wanting to try.

  1.  Last of Us
  2. We Happy Few
  3. Half-Life and Half-Life 2
  4. I am Alive
  5. Final Fantasy VII the Remake  

 

What are your top 5? Any suggestions on games I should try out? Please comment below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

